1.4 Selection of practices

The selection of countries was made in consultations with ITU regional offices, which are best positioned to identify countries from their respective regions. Practices are clustered according to ITU regional groupings.23

ITU regional offices identified a set of countries in which ministries and other government agencies put in place practices considered to be successful (i.e., practices that have effectively helped women and girls benefit from the opportunities offered by the digital economy) related to one (or more) of the five policy areas defined above.24

A geographical representation within the six ITU regions as well as the inclusion of countries of different level of development were considered when selecting countries. The ease of acceding to government representatives for collecting information about practices was also taken into consideration. The selection includes both, countries with a high level of gender equality in the digital domain, and countries with a low level of gender equality but that, nevertheless managed to successfully implement practices that effectively helped women and girls benefit from the opportunities offered by the digital economy.

A standardized approach was adopted for the collection of practices. Focal points in ministries and other government agencies were requested to provide information about practices in a template developed based on the ITU Good Practice Canvas (i.e., practice, type, goals and policy area, key activities, governance, resources and impact).25

A pool of 27 practices on gender mainstreaming in digital policies, strategies, programmes and/or projects is the basis for this handbook (see Annex 2). Table 1 shows where these practices were put in place by governments of 19 countries from the ITU regions.

Table 1: Practices on gender mainstreaming in digital policies, strategies, programmes and/or projects (by region)

ITU region Countries Numbers of practices
Africa Cameroon, Ethiopia, Senegal, Tanzania, Zimbabwe 6
Americas Argentina, Barbados, Chile, Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago 8
Arab States Egypt; the State of Palestine 3
Asia and the Pacific Australia; Republic of Korea 4
Commonwealth of Independent States Azerbaijan; Uzbekistan 2
Europe Germany; Montenegro; Serbia 4
Total 19 27

23 Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Americas: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela.
Arab States: Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, State of Palestine, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.
Asia and the Pacific: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Lao P.D.R., Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Viet Nam.
Commonwealth of Independent States: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.
Europe: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Republic of North Macedonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Republic of Türkiye, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican.
For more information about the regional presence of ITU,

24 ITU regional offices established contact with focal points in ministries and agencies and facilitated the collection of information about practices

25 ITU Good Practices Canvas